What a prayer can do? (1st Anniversary Article)

Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one

– Bruce Lee

Recently, I have been through a tough and major disappointment in my life. I am really down in that moment until yesterday, a major decision of my life is about to happen…

As a fresh graduate, everybody’s first priority is to have their first job.

Recently I applied to a school in which I have my On-the-job training. I applied to the vacant position because, my first passion is to be a school librarian and based from my training there, the kids and the culture their really touches my heart. As a graduate of Catholic School during High School days, I’ve known my faith will be strengthened in that school. I’ve always waited to the call of this institution.

However, my College professor, let me know that his former employer is looking for new batch of librarians. As my professor said, he was trained in that school and all of his knowledge is from that institution. He also added that the mentor there is excellent.

As a fresh graduate, I am not focusing on the salary, I am more focused on how will I learn and how that institution will help me review on the upcoming board examinations.

Yesterday, the school were my college professor had been, appointed me to have my psychological exam and also the preliminary interview. And as I traveled to the school, the school were I have my OJT, texted me and scheduled me also that day for the preliminary interview.

Major decision

It is really a tough decision. I don’t know what to choose. I am really confused that time. Both are offering good learning experience and I think both have good pay. On that day, I was informed that the results of the psychological exam might be on the next day or the week after next week. The other school said to me that they can release the results of my exam on the next week, and unlike the other one, this school can hire me as early as the last week of April.

For this time, as I go home, about to make a life-turning decision, I just prayed: “Lord, please give me the school that will help me to my dreams, the school that will keep me professionally challenged and most of all, that I can have a great mentor. You know my dreams oh God, your will be done” For almost an hour, this is all the content of my prayers, replayed all-over-again. And this time, I am seriously considering the one I have my OJT because I have seen greater opportunities to grow that library and I don’t know if I passed the exam because of the level of difficulty especially numerical ability, aside from that it is time-pressured.

Then, God answers…

As I head back home and got a rest, someone texted me. And as the message reveals, it just said “I got the results of your exams: congratulations, you’ve made it! I will be recommending you for final interview and I assure you, you will be part of the team”

And as I was like jumping or something! I am near to being hired. Thanks to God.

What can a prayer can do?

  1. The impossible becomes possible.

I have seen this over-and-over again especially when I am attending Feast Manila.  In my off-campus, I am always on the half chance criteria on attending every Friday, but no. I don’t have any absences. I know that if it is the will of God and if it will be the best for you, there will always be a way.

  1. Prayers are not just gainers, it is also for losing.

Norman Vincent Peale, in his book Positive thinking in a time like this, emphasizes this point. When we are in prayer, we lose many things most of the time: our depression, our fears, our doubting, the confusion that we are having, and the other negative feelings that we are having. I remembered what Einstein said that evil is the absence of God within ourselves. When we pray to God and seek Him, we tend to lose focus on the problem for a while to rest our mind; and when we are rejuvenated, then that is the only time that we can productively face the problem by thinking straight.

  1. Meditation

The basis of prayer is to seek the presence of God. Basically, we forgot this idea because all we have done is to gain and ask most of the time. But many churches are teaching that sometimes just think about God and you will be fine. Catholic Churches have this kind of adoration chapel that all you have to do is to adore the Eucharist and monks have this kind of way of praying that all they have to do is to clear their mind.

Basically, it is praying; meditating unto the highest form, God.

Conclusion:

I don’t know what you are doing. Maybe you are not considering it as a prayer. That’s fine. But keep going because it will help you unto the end.

With this anniversary article, I am just wanted to thank you to all the people who continually read unto this blog! May the rest of your life be the best of your life!

 

 

About Carlo Gualvez

Librarian, Motivational Speaker, Author, Writer, Blogger I pursued this blog in order to touch lives and inspire others. For all the people reading this, you are free to ask questions and hopefully by the grace of God, I can answer it.
Image | This entry was posted in Article-Self Improvement, My Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

